GUEST REVIEWS

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Studio apartment - Rating 5/5

What a fabulousfind. I had my own wee studio apartment with a kitchen and it was great. Immaculately clean, comfortable and quiet. The owner was helpful and friendly without being intrusive. I loved it and will be back.

Reviewer:Lona J | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 1 day ago


Hildeval - Rating 5/5

This is a very comfortable B&B. The view is beautiful, the food superior, and the owners charming.

Reviewer:Heather G | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 1 week ago


Great B&B - Very Friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here twice now and I will stay here again next time I'm on Orkney.Very comfortable beds, could sleep for a week!ThanksAdam

Response

Thank you very much Adam ! It was a pleasure to welcome you back!We do our best to give guests a calm restful restorativenights sleep and one of that things to achieve that is by using the best quality mattress, many guests comment that it’s “the best sleep of their trip “!We very much look forward to Welcoming back to HildevalBest wishesAmanda & George

Reviewer:Adam R | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Wonderful stay. - Rating 5/5

The Hildeval was the perfect location for exploring Orkney.Friendly and welcoming host's, nothing was too much trouble. It felt like home. Extremely comfortably bed, great shower and tasty breakfast, lots of choices.Surrounded by stunning views.Maisy the dog was added bonus, very friendly.Great value for money. We would highly recommended the Hildeval.

Response

Thank you Sarah for a great review ! We are delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay with us and Miss Maisey too!Kind RegardsAmanda,George & Maisey Lu

Reviewer:Sarah H | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


The Best B&B! ***** - Rating 5/5

Amanda & George are THE best hosts, kind welcoming and lovely, we were a party of 4 and 2 rooms over a 3 night stay wish it could’ve been longer,rooms were cosy comfortable very clean,location is good only short walk to shops eataries etc and a good base to explore the island, plenty of easy parking too.The best breakfasts we had on our 3 week trip to the uk ( even from some 5 star hotels !) and the view from the guest lounge I could sit there all day WOW !Stylish charming decor, we all slept like Angels here.#Hildeval is Happiness!

Reviewer:B | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

The B&B is modern and has got everything you possibly want. Very good breakfast also for vegetarians. It is only 15 minutes walking to downtown.

Response

Thank you for giving us great review. We are delighted you enjoyed what we offer at Hildeval.Kind RegardsAmanda George & Maisey

Reviewer:Ian Peter G | Sat 4th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Superb B&B - Rating 5/5

An absolute gem of B&B in Kirkwall. Amanda was a fantastic host, accomodation was first class, power shower, fluffy dressing gowns, lovely soft beds. Breakfast was great, with full scottish for Mrs F and Smoked salmon &scrambled eggs for me. Daughter had pancakes with fruit and maple syrup. Highly recommended

Response

Thank you for a taking time to leave a great review it really means a lot to us. We are delighted you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay with us at Hildeval.Come back soon !Amanda George & Maisey

Reviewer:Allan F | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

The room was very comfortable and included a small kitchen - ideal for guests who want to warm food etc. Very well equipped and clean. The property is at the top of the hill with views over the sea and only a ten minute walk down the hill to the town. A great location!

Response

Thank you for taking time to review us we are happy you enjoyed Hildeval.see you again soonAmanda George & Maisey

Reviewer:Mandy H | Fri 5th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Great place, great hosts - Rating 5/5

Amanda was great. We would absolutely stay here again. Clean, quiet, and welcoming.

Response

Thanks for a great review Kam it was a pleasure to have you both with us at Hildeval.We are Delighted you enjoyed your stay, look forward to welcoming you back in the future.Kind RegardsAmanda George & Maisey

Reviewer:Kam B | Sat 30th Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Bed &Breakfast in Kirkwall Orkney is brilliant. Beautiful breakfast, as well as stunning views from guest lounge, breakfast room. Handy for the town centre.

Response

Thank you for a lovely review, welook forward to welcoming you all back to Hildeval soon.Kind RegardsAmanda George & Maisey

Reviewer:Maurice J | Sat 30th Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


Whisky tour - Rating 5/5

Perfect place for our Group of 6 persons,nice rooms perfect breakfast and it,s like to come home. Denny with friends

Reviewer:Denny A | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms, clean and well fitted and furnished. Friendly and helpful hosts and staff. Lovely breakfasts.

Reviewer:Shirley W | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Acccommodation - Rating 5/5

Very comfy room, verty helpful owner

Reviewer:Doug A | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Friendly and comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

A lovely welcome on arrival, comfortable room and guest lounge area and a great breakfast. Would happily return.

Reviewer:HEATHER M | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Hildeval B and B- Rating 5/5

Excellent rooms , Excellent Breakfast ,Owners very, very nice , have already recommended this place to friends. If i was ever to go back this is where i would stay .Say Hi to Angus for me

Reviewer:Rabbies Trail Burners L | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely view - Rating 5/5

Very nice room and large bathroom. Spotless and fresh. Cozy and firm bed. Bathrobes! Shirley and Gerry are lovely hosts. Could use a hook or two in the bath to hang those lovely robes and other clothing while in the shower. Beautiful

Reviewer:Ramona D | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great - Rating 5/5

very pleased with B&B

Reviewer:Q | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


orcades - Rating 4/5

très bonne maison.bon accueil.

Reviewer:Dominique B | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

The bed was outstanding in comfort and the breakfast was delicious! It's a bit of a walk into town but worth it for the view from the breakfast window. Extremely clean property and really friendly hosts!

Reviewer:Rabbies Trail Burners L | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Short Business Stay - Rating 4/5

Good quiet location and clean, comfortable accommodation.Shame I had to depart for work before I could sample a cooked breakfast.

Reviewer:Peter H | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Best sleep on trip - Rating 5/5

We arrived at Hildeval after 2 weeks of travel around the UK and visiting numerous B&B, hotels etc. The accomodation was excellent. Warm, quiet and comfortable with very well appointed rooms.The bathrooms were excellent and I had the best 2 nights sleep of the entire trip so far. Breakfast was beautifully prepared and I liked the ability to say just what I would like. We walked to and from town with ease but especially enjoyed the amazing view from the lounge and breakfast area. Not the cheapest B&B, but worth every penny.

Reviewer:Rabbies Trail Burners L | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Very lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night and had a lovely stay. We arrived late from the ferry but that was no problem, slept and ate well, and would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you!!

Reviewer:Katja T | Tue 8th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

The hosts were lovely and very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was amazing! I would absolutely stay here again!

Reviewer:Bethany M | Tue 1st May 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly, faultless, fabulous! - Rating 5/5

A lovely clean, tidy, comfortable home from home. Very friendly and helpful hosts, very comfortable room and a superb breakfast with the best black pudding I have ever tasted!Thoroughly recommended!

Reviewer:Peter D | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Terry, Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Great hosts,good choice of breakfast and spotless clean.

Response

Hi Terry, very much appreciated review, all the best for the futureGerry & Shirley

Reviewer:Terence S | Wed 10th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


A really great discovery.- Rating 5/5

I was delighted to find Hildeval . It doesn't claim to be more than it is but what it is is wonderful and it scores right at the top end. You will never find accommodation which is cleaner or a bed which is more comfortable. The very pleasant landlady could not have been more welcoming.Travellers should put this guesthouse high on their list of preferred options.I will not hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewer:Gary A | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

My stay with you was great thank you. A comfortable room and good food. Not having wi-fi was not too much of a problem but I did notice some of the lights were not working in my room but I forgot to mention this at the time.

Reviewer:Helen G | Thu 6th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A lovely visit- Rating 4/5

A lovely B&B with fantastic views across the bay and good food. Would recommend for anyone wanting to stay in Kirkwall.

Reviewer:Helen G | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Hildeval B&B, Kirkwall, Orkney, Scotland - Rating 5/5

Great Hosts, Friendly and Helpful.Hildeval is a extraordinary B&B, spotlessly clean, with wonderful breakfasts and a beautiful view of Kirkwall Bay and several of the out islands from the Great room on the upper floor.

Reviewer:Donald W | Sat 25th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and very well looked after. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay

Reviewer:Peter S | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Hildeval B&B - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hosts and homely atmosphere.Good food and comfortable nights sleep with clean facilities and excellent shower! Will definately be first B&B to call when visiting the island again. Thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer:Peter S | Thu 29th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Really lovely - Rating 4/5

Really friendly hosts, amazing views from the breakfast/dining room and breakfast was great.

Reviewer:Frances C | Wed 14th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

Gerry and Shirley are great hosts, the rooms are spotless, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is just what you need first thing in the morning.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Thu 24th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Best of b&b\'s - Rating 5/5

Friendly, welcoming, relaxing &a fantastic breakfast to start your day

Reviewer:Vic U | Sat 8th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Very Good - Rating 5/5

All one could wish for.Clean;Good Food;Welcome;Reasonable price.

Reviewer:George M | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Hildeval - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Hildeval.Our room was very comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and Gerry and Shirley were charming and very helpful.

Response

Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you.Gerry & Shirley

Reviewer:Lawrence C | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable, friendly and welcoming hosts, and close to town and ferry terminal so convenient for a late arrival by ferry.

Response

Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you.Gerry & Shirley

Reviewer:Anne J | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

From arrival to departure the whole experience was truly FIRST CLASS!The room was squeaky clean and every detail had been thought of for the guest. We would highly recommend this establishment to anyone needing accommodation on Orkney. It deserves 10 out of 10!!!

Response

Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you.Gerry & Shirley

Reviewer:James B | Sun 4th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


A great welcome - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay for our 20th wedding anniversary holiday - and were especially pleased and surprised to be welcomed with a bottle of bubbly to celebrate - what a lovely touch. The room was well appointed and comfortable, the breakfast was luxurious, the view from the dining room window (upstairs) was lovely, and the welcome was warm and friendly. Just a short walk into the town centre, so really our visit couldn't be bettered.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward R | Sat 3rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Appearances are deceiving! ***** - Rating 5/5

Great rooms, great food, great people! stay here or your daft!!!

Reviewer:Mark K | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Orkney visit - Rating 5/5

Great location,Friendly &welcoming hosts. Clean &comfortable bed. Good food. What more can one ask of a B&B they certainly ticked all the boxes. Would definitely recommend !

Response

Hi Anne, your comments are very much appreciated.Gerry & Shirley

Reviewer:Anne M | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


wonderfull - Rating 5/5

Good place and service. The best poached eggs!!

Reviewer:Josep M. V | Sat 20th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


What a view! - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights at Hildeval in August and were treated very well.Facilities are great, with a lounge and TV available for guests (we didn't use the lounge, but it was nice to have it there.Location is good - just a short walk into town.Hosts are very friendly.View of the sea from the lounge/breakfast room is outstanding.Definitely would recommend the Hildeval.

Response

Thank you Marcus, we appreciate your commentsGerry

Reviewer:Marcus R | Sat 20th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great time- Rating 5/5

Both myself and my husband being first time visitor to Orkney. We had a fantastic stay with gerry and sheila the warm welcome we both recieved. And the room was perfect and the breakfast in the morning was just what you need to set you up for the day. We both would come back a stay and also recommend the Hildeval B&B to friends amd family.

Reviewer:Christina F | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Tourism - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Christine H | Fri 5th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Business Trip - Rating 5/5

I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely room I had during the 4 nights that I stayed in Hildeval.It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and attractive.Breakfast was also very pleasant with a good selection of juice, cereals, fruit, toast and cooked options, with plenty of fresh coffee.I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who requires somewhere just out of Kirkwall centre, but close enough to walk into town.I walked in and out every day, apart from when it rained heavily one evening.Thank you so much to the owners for making my stay so comfortable, warm and welcoming.

Reviewer:Dawn A | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

An excellent B and B, with a fabulous view from the upstairs dining room. Accomodation was lovely, plenty of room and very comfortable. Plenty of breakfast choices.

Reviewer:Mrs D T | Thu 14th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Design home for share! - Rating 5/5

Placed in the most quiet area of the town.Excellent grass and parking area, even with electric car connection (I think from the owner, but deserves mentioning)Great breakfast in a HUGE dining room with fantastic views and binoculars available.Fantastic room, great facilities and appliances as listed, .Nice room, with big windows.Pet friendly as they have a couple of friendly dogs that willplay with you even being a stranger if you like (I suppose they bark eventually??, but was not able to check, really friendly and silent).

Reviewer:Alberto G | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Delighted- Rating 5/5

As we arrived extremely late, coming direct from Shetland ferry, we were delighted to be able to go straight to our room. Warm comfortable and a very cheery and warm welcome at breakfast, which was delicious.Sandie &Cliff

Reviewer:Alexandra B | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Very satisfied - Rating 5/5

We were looked after very well. Our late arrival was organised perfectly. Our bicycles were safe and secure. The room was well presented, large and comfortable.Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room has a view to die for. Excellent.

Reviewer:Dave C | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful B&B! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at this B&B for only one night, but we wish we could have stayed longer. What a great place! Lovely bedroom, well-heated, spacious and comfortable beds.The owners/hosts are delightful people who do their very best to make their guests comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, too. Very recommendable!Karl and Lydie, Vermont, USA

Reviewer:Mr Karl B | Thu 16th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Hildeval- Rating 5/5

Shirley and Gerry gave us a lovely stay at Hildeval. A very warm welcome and the place is run very professionally. The house is ideally situated - on a quiet road within a short walk of the town centre and with a beautiful view over the sea. The room was well equipped, very clean and the breakfast excellent. We would definitely go back there.

Reviewer:Jill H | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Had a pleasant stay.Warm and friendly.Comfortableand handy to town.Would stay again.

Reviewer:Susan G | Fri 27th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

What a joy to get our walking boots off in such a congenial house. Especially Angus the welcoming committee. A guest house without fault. Lovely room super breakfast and such warm hosts. Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Erica B | Sat 21st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome.Comfortable accommodation.Lovely breakfast and stunning views.Easy walkable access into the centre of Kirkwall.Highly recommended and will stay again!

Response

Hi Stuart, thank you very much for your comments, very much appreciatedGerry & Shirley

Reviewer:Stuart C | Fri 13th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Orkney intro - Rating 4/5

Though entering what looks like a home our room was of hotel standard with a lovely shower. Parking was never a problem and the breakfast good. The owners, and their dogs were very friendly. A picnic bench on their front lawn would be nice. That way we could sit on it in the evening and enjoy the great views

Response

Hi Ian, thank you for your comments, picnic bench on the way :)

Reviewer:Ian H | Thu 12th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Comfortable B&B - Rating 5/5

10 minute walk into Kirkwall. Owners really friendly and helpful in making you comfort-able. They helped me mail a package. Rooms all clean and modern. Two large dogs on premises.

Reviewer:Ms. Susan H | Tue 10th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Restful Stop - Rating 5/5

Only one overnight but after a hard day running around the islands the Hildeval was quiet and restful.Really good for recharging the batteries ready for the next day.Breakfast very good, view from the Breakfast Room stunning all backed up with an excellent service.

Reviewer:Michael H | Fri 6th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect location and room for my stay in Orkney. Stayed in a single room, which was comfortable and cosy. Lovely breakfast and very welcoming hosts. The B&B is only a 10 minute walk from the shops, pubs/restaurants in Kirkwall and a great base for an Orkney trip.

Reviewer:Michael E | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B, close to the historical centre - the breakfast room has a lovely view of the sea. The owners are super kind and helpful, the rooms are comfy and impeccably clean...

Reviewer:Carla S | Wed 20th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Top class - Rating 5/5

We stayed seven men travelling around Scotland visiting distilleries. Could go back to Orkney again without visiting any distillery Hildelval is one of the best B&B I ever stayed at. I can't find anything at all to complain about. Clean, modern, comfortable bed breakfast was relly nice. Simply first class!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Stefan O | Tue 19th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely Spot - Rating 5/5

SAT NAV let us down finding the place but a quick phone call sorted that. Beautiful panoramic view of Scapa Flow from a delightful sitting room come breakfast room. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Alex S | Wed 13th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Orkney- Rating 5/5

Good location. Excellent views from the lounge/breakfast room

Reviewer:Colin R | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Superb view from breakfast table, excellent breakfast, nice room!

Reviewer:Simon F | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Vary accommodating - Rating 5/5

Hosts were excellent and I was made to feel very welcome. I didn't plan my trip very well, so I was left hanging around - but this was no problem and they were more than accommodating.

Reviewer:Martin O | Tue 22nd Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


My holiday in Orkney- Rating 5/5

Was a lovely bed and breakfast , the owners were absolutely lovely , very helpful , friendly and breakfast was a feast would recommend it to anyone .

Reviewer:John C | Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


3 Hours Notice - Rating 5/5

I had to come to Kirkwall in an emergency &only booked 3hours in advance &in hindsight should of rung.I was very distressed upon arrival, whilst hadn't noticed booking was not a bother &even was given a welcome hug, cup of tea &time just to gather myself. A wonderful breakfast &stay, would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Jay M | Thu 10th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


4.9
Very Good

67 reviews

5
87%
4
13%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%